Be the Light in Someone’s Dark Room

Please read this until the very end.

“Sometimes our light goes out but is blown again into flame by an encounter with another human being. Each of us owes the deepest thanks to those who have rekindled this inner light.”~Albert Schweitzer

Be a lamp lighter for someone else..It’s easy to do if you seek the opportunity..
***
This image may be subject to copyright. lamplighterswooster.com

Image

****

http://forgottennewengland.com/2012/11/22/past-occupations-lamplighters-in-lowell-massachusetts/

The lamplighters lit the gas lamps of city streets one by one turning the darkness into light. They were so important in the Victorian age of the later 1800’s.

Just like these lamplighters I have had certain people in my life who have come along at just the right moment to encourage and walk beside me during the challenging times of my life. Here is a story of one of those lamplighters in my life.:

. My 85 y/o mother had just died after a fall down her basement stairs while going to a Bible Study.. No, I did not make that up. In 2008 my alert and oriented mother fell down her basement stairs as she made her way to the car in the basement where my father was waiting for you. She was older but was doing well. We will never know why she fell. She struck her head on the concrete wall at the bottom of the stairs and immediately lost consciousness. She was placed on a ventilator and died 6 hrs later of massive bleeding within her skull. There was nothing that we could do to save her.

Three months later my father, who had pulmonary fibrosis,was making his way to town for some groceries when he lost consciousness while driving on a highway. His car proceeded on its own with my unconscious father at the wheel at about 10 mph. Numerous calls to 911 resulted in a police officer responding to the situation. The police officer got out of his squad car, ran beside my father’s car, doors were locked. The officer then used his baton to smash open the rear window, opening the car door and stopping the car and transferring my father via ambulance to a local hospital.

A few days later while my father was extremely confused due to his prolonged lack of oxygen, I went to Wal Mart to pick up some toiletries for him. There, a husband of one of my fellow choir members saw me and asked me, innocently, how it was going. I burst into tears from the stress of it all and he stood holding me while I bawled my eyes out.

He was a lamplighter for me that day. He didn’t have to say a word. His comfort said it all. (I’ve never had any significant contact with him since that time)

Who has been a lamplighter for you??

 

Leave a Reply

