Grief 2008 copyright by me

Grief is an emotion
Which consumes my soul,
Rocks my brain
And empties my heart.

Sucking the life
Right from my body.
Tears do not
Assuage this strife.

Grief is an emotion
Which consumes my soul,
Rocks my brain
And empties my heart.

Vacuuming the feelings
From my being,
Replacing all of these
With a void, still reeling.

Grief is an emotion
Which consumes my soul,
Rocks my brain
And empties my heart.

Longing to call you
And hear your voice.
Wanting to hug you
Just one more time.

Grief is an emotion
Which consumes my soul,
Rocks my brain
And empties my heart.

You know I love you
You know I care.
Can I still love you
When you’re no longer there?

Grief is an emotion
Which consumes my soul,
Rocks my brain
And empties my heart.

This was written after my mother died after a fall down her basement stairs. It was quite a shock.

***

This image may be subject to copyright. It is not my own. 

Image

Leave a Reply

